Learning…………

When others whine and complain about not being able to do something it always irritates me. How do they know they can’t do it unless they try? Then I heard myself complaining and whining about not being able to machine quilt. I was looking at the latest AQS Magazine and moaning over all the fabulous quilters and how I could never do what they do. Well, of course I can’t. I’ve never tried very hard. A few attempts now and then, but when my workmanship is less than ideal, I give up. So today I decided to start working at it – practicing. Yes, practicing. If I practice a little each day I just might eventually improve.
I gathered all my books on machine quilting and the things I have printed out from the internet, and I sat down to read and study. Then I went to the machine and practiced different types of machine quilting.
I tried stippling.

I made these stems of triangles


And I worked on doing clusters.

It is a beginning. As you can see, I have a lot of practicing ahead of me. Sigh.

3 thoughts on “Learning…………

  1. A doctor practices; why not you? In fact those stitches are better than some of the emergency room sewing jobs I've seen!! I love how you tackle life SMC!

  2. And Bonnie FYI that's how I learned to applique….I took the entire summer a few years ago to practise and I hope I improved……I am thinking about doing the same thing you are doing now. Maybe next week !!!! LOLLiz

Leave a Reply

