Binding joins

When I first started quilting, there were many women who helped me along my journey with hints and instructions.  I am forever grateful for the binding hints and advice I got to join the strips on an angle, to press the seams open, and to use a 2-1/4 folded binding.

One thing I do that I don’t often see done is to use my Easy Angle ruler to cut the strip ends for the join.  I place the two strips together, right sides up, and place the Easy Angle to make the angle cut.  The cut includes the little straight piece at the bottom.

March Quilt Studio & Maundy Thurs 001When you then place the ends right sides together for sewing, the blunt end is against the straight edge or the opposite piece thus making it easy to sew the quarter inch and eliminating the dog ears.

March Quilt Studio & Maundy Thurs 002

March Quilt Studio & Maundy Thurs 003

March Quilt Studio & Maundy Thurs 004Just thought I would pass this hint on.  You may have a better way, but for me this method works great.

signature

 

 

3 thoughts on “Binding joins

  1. Thanks Bonnie! I ran across this ruler the other day in one of my drawers. I couldn’t remember what it was for. Great tutorial!

Leave a Reply

