Straight lines and free-motion

Today I had a chance to do some more long-arm practicing.  After watching some lessons from Kimmy Brunner on Craftsy, I tired using a ruler to do a straight line star.  It is not as easy as she makes it look.  You can see my one big bobble on the left side.

straightlinestar

 

Then I tried a free-motion flower motif that I copied from a quilt my niece recently had quilted.  It starts out with four oval petal shapes which are surrounded by a heart shape, which then is echoed until it fills the space.  It was fairly easy to do and I like the look of it very much.

flower

 

There is so much to learn and years of practicing ahead of me.  I’m almost at the end of a bolt of muslin and just purchased another bolt.  This time I got a wider bolt so that I would have more room to practice and not have to advance the fabric so quickly.

How long will it take before I feel confident in my long-arm quilting abilities?  That is the unanswerable question!

July 2013 12 Bonnie

One thought on “Straight lines and free-motion

Leave a Reply

