How do you learn?

Recently I added a Pro Stitcher to my HandiQuilter Avante.

photo 2 (3)

I can now quilt an elephant on my quilts.

photo 1 (3)

Are you impressed?  Don’t be.  The way I learn is by making mistakes, and yesterday I made plenty of mistakes and learned a lot.  Feeling confident after watching all the instructional videos, I plunged right in and loaded a quilt to do an edge to edge quilt pattern.  I chose an open and airy pattern to quilt on my Button quilt – a pattern titled Loose Threads.  Sounded just right for the quilt.  Unfortunately I was in too much of a hurry because I failed to measure where the pattern would end in the throat space and how it would fit together row to row.  I also was not careful basting the edges and didn’t watch the batting which folded in the center.  Lots of mistakes.  Lots of lessons learned.  I was a little discouraged, but finished it up and trimmed it, wobbly edges and all.

Can you see all my mistakes?

photo 2 (4)

buttonqltonla

Here is one………..instead of a rounded edge, there was not enough throat space so the rounded edge was squared up.

photo 1 (4)

Here is the backing……….can you see the mistakes here?

photo 3 (4)

No, of course not.  I was miserable over my mistakes, but today when I looked at the finished quilt, I realized that it is hard to find the mistakes and all in all it looks pretty good.  Also, I read in one of Julia Cameron’s books her words “Here’s what I like about God: Trees are crooked, mountains are lumpy, a lot of his creatures are funny-looking, and he made it all anyway.”  So my lumpy, bumpy, quilt fits nicely into this world.

All the mistakes I made mean that I have learned. When I re-watched the instructional videos today I took lots of notes and am now ready to try again.  Do you also learn by making mistakes?

Here is a close-up of the backing fabric.  I think it is adorable.

Buttonbackclseup

whitesignature

 

 

3 thoughts on “How do you learn?

  1. Love your attitude about your mistakes. Sounds like you are a perfectionist amd living with them is not an easy thing to do. Join the club! Fondly Valerie

Leave a Reply

