Quilting Friday and Saturday

No Black Friday shopping for my niece and me.  We stayed cozy in my Quilt Cave all day Friday.  Becky quilted on my long-arm and I worked on the finishing of my big UFO – the 2013 Designer Block of the Month from The Fat Quarter Shop.

First, Becky quilted a chevron baby quilt.

chevron baby - Copy

Becky got very brave and used manual mode to do some fancy creative meandering.

chevron closeup

Next she worked on a Bullseye quilt.  The pattern is in an old Country Threads book.  I did the very same quilt years ago and it is one of my favorites.

bullseyebecky

A thread guide/spring flew out of the machine just as she was nearing the end, but she finished it up anyway and the missing part didn’t seem to make a difference.

bullseye

Meanwhile I worked on cutting borders, making sashing and flying geese.  Today I finished up the 50 flying geese and got two rows of the quilt put together with sashing.

fqsflyinggeese

fqstworows

The finishing of this quilt is slow going, but it will be worth the effort.  Then the challenge will be the quilting.  I need lots more practice in order to do some custom work – which this quilt deserves.

The machine goes off to the dealer though to get repaired and cleaned.  It will be my Christmas present to me!

whitesignature

One thought on “Quilting Friday and Saturday

Leave a Reply

