Problem solved

Today at the LQS they were having a trunk show of Allison Harris’ Cluck Cluck Sew quilts.  I have several of her patterns so was excited to see her quilts up close.  The owner of the shop, Lynn, was also going over the instructions for some of the patterns.  Since I had come to a screeching halt on the Basket Case quilt, I was very interested to hear how she would solve my problem – which was that when I put the blocks together, the seams were not opposing.  I do not like the bulk and inaccuracy that non-opposing seams creates.  I was very happy to hear Lynn’s solution,,,,,   As you sew, pull the seam to the right direction to make it opposing, then when you iron it, make a little cut in the corner so that the seam can be ironed back down where it was.

Seam set to side to oppose…..

bcnononopseam

 

Seam cut and ironed back down in original direction……

bcnonopcut

 

Seams match nicely.

 

bcnonopsewn

 

Kind of a fussy solution, but it works and now I have all the blocks sewn in rows.

 

Also worked on some long-arm quilting today….

pinwheelqltg

I hope to have these two projects well along the way to completion this weekend.

Bonnie

2 thoughts on “Problem solved

Leave a comment